Friday, March 20, 2026

Purdue-y in St. Louie (& food porn)

 Hi everyone!

We're in St. Louis with my college friend and wedding best man, RR (he wanted his own initials)!  😁 

Why? You ask (or know already)...to see Purdue play in the NCAA tournament.  It's the 3rd year in a row we've gone to see them in the tournament.  Rah rah. 

Briefly, for those who don't care about basketball, Purdue won tonight, by a score of 104-71.  The game was never really in doubt as they got ahead early and were even up at halftime by 12.  Rah effin' rah. 

Where to backtrack?

We stopped in Indianapolis Wednesday (we drove, obv) and had pizza with GB and her bestie boo (a term I learned that evening :)) at a place called King Dough, right downtown.  I don't think there were pics. EH and I shared one of their pizzas called "Stinky Pete."  I will let you ponder what that might have had on it. :)

Then we had brunch at First Watch.  If you don't know it, it's a chain brunch place.  I had lemon ricotta pancakes.

Then we stopped on the way at our alma mater, which RR and I agreed hadn't really changed that much: the quad has pretty much the same buildings, a couple with new facades in parts.  One part of this that tortures me is all the red -- I am NOT a fan -- and everything there is red, including the banisters on staircases, the seats in the gym, you name it. Yucky.  Bad vibe. I wonder if it was like that when we went there if I could have ignored it and gone there. 🤷

Then to St. Louis.  

I had a recommendation of McGurk's for tendies.  Acc to Josh, they were the best he's ever eaten.  Three of us had them, and they understood his sentiment.  Here they are:

That's their buffalo sauce on the side. 

I had the Guinness stew and we took home the Bailey's Irish Cream cheese cake and the Jameson's bread pudding. 

But about McGurk's: it's an Irish pub. Having been in Ireland multiple times, it is the real McCoy.  The stained glass in various windows and doors, all the wood, and the menu, with fish and chips, soda bread, and shepherd's pie. Great atmosphere.  Two vans full of oldies came while we were there, so you know it is a good place. (the staff person recommended a bar nearby, too)

But it was the guy who seated us and started waiting on us who was amusing.  He talked with this heavy Irish brogue and I asked where he was from and he said "here in St. Louis."  🤔  I said something to the other person and he said "he wasn't faking an Irish accent again, was he?"  We weren't sure who was having us on. 🤣

We came back tot he airbnb, which is 2 miles from the arena where the games are played, and watched games till the end of the night.  I could tell you about the ubiquitous struggle to get the Airbnb TV to give you the anything you want -- eventually it gave me Google TV with YouTubeTV.  

This morning we ate at Chris's Pancakes, which is in The Hill district (we're gong back for dinner tomorrow night), which various sources said was the best breakfast place in town.  It might be. 

I had the special: C&C biscuit.  Chicken and canadian bacon and I got hollandaise on it. 


RR had the country fried steak and pancakes:

EH had the benedict.

Mrs Narrator had something I didn't take a picture of. 

Then we went out east to Cahokia mounds.  These are ca. 12th century mounds, built over hundreds of years, that were the something for the natives there at the time.  It's not real clear what -- most aren't burial mounds.  There was also a sundial thing a la Stonehenge, except with wood poles.  Cool.  


The largest mound had 150 cement steps (EH counted).  It took an hour before my heart went back to normal.  It definitely wondered what I was thinking. 

Then back to town for the pre-game Purdue party at a place called The Midwestern.  It was right across the street from Busch baseball stadium.  Not a lot of blocks from the arena.

It was full of Purdue fans, with lots of black and gold!  They gave us beads and rubber bracelets (Boiler Up!) and stickers, which you see here on RR's face. 🤣



The guy behind us was so excited that he photobombed us!!! SMH...

There were a lot of people to watch, most in Purdue gear, but there was some Mizzou, some Miami, and other oddities. 

Funny final story: RR and I were at the bar getting drinks and I sent the other two to get seats and I looked and they were sitting at the end of an 8-10 person high top with a bunch of girls.  When we came with the drinks, they were standing and I asked...and they said a woman came over and said they were her underage something team and she didn't want other grownups sitting next to them!!! Well, why are they in a bar??!!?!?

Oh, well, that's our first days on this trip.  Having won, we now stay till Sunday sometime (we have the airbnb till Monday).  We have reservations for brunch and dinner tomorrow.  FYI it was 86 here today and is supposed to be similar tomorrow.  Rah rah.  Fini#





No comments:

Post a Comment